YouTube-like service but for microscopy (+ bonus)

Hi all,

I’d like to share an early preview of the project I’m working on: an YouTube-like service but for microscopy called Membrane. The focus is on seamless sharing of the data online without the fuss of permanent storage (like in IDR). It’s meant to aid people working day-to-day with microscopy data. It came out of a collaboration with a bio lab (my background is in software) and their need to work online in the face of COVID19 restrictions. I know many labs struggle with moving to work online so I thought Membrane is worth sharing more widely.

I recorded a demo: Membrane demo - YouTube

The online viewer came out of necessity of the moment. The main problem I’m tackling with Membrane is a “hands-free”, generalist segmentation service, where you upload a microscopy image of any kind and get a segmentation back. I know this is a hard problem but Nucleaizer and Cellpose made great strides in this direction and we’re heavily inspired. Our focus is on people who do not want to fiddle with GPUs or figure out strategies of scaling to large datasets. The video contains a sneak preview of that service. A few biologists who tried it were deeply impressed.

I’d love to hear what you think! We’re not quite ready to open it up to the internet, but if you would like to try it let me know here or at greg@membrane.computer

13 Likes

In an attempt to be brief, I forgot to give credits: the renderings you see in the demo are powered by napari - we’re big fans.

2 Likes

Can you give some technical details? I’ve been thinking of trying something similar in the context of the EOSC-Life project. Along a similar line, we’ve started dealing with remote image analysis work by setting up a virtual desktop system. It’s still in beta but you can try it.

Hi Jean,