WSI preprocessing pipeline

Dear all,

I am a pathologist, interested in digital pathology and deep learning. I have basic knowledge in python (including numpy, pandas, sci-kit,…) and am familiar with some machine learning theory. By trying to set up a pipeline for CNN using whole slides, I encountered several implementation problems, that I would be very happy, if you could help me with as a primary medical professional. My aim is to:

1. Scan histopathological slides at 40X resolution, saved as .svs.
  2. Manually annotate these slides at low resolution to only include tumor tissue (and not sorrounding normal tissue), e.g. using QuPath.
  3. Use this annotation to perform all following preprocessing steps (e. g. color normalization) in python, but only on the annotated tumor area. Here, I would like to create a pipeline that allows to use different magnification levels (e. g. 20X, 40X) and different tile sizes (e. g. 512x512, 256 vs. 256).
  4. Run the algorithms on these tiles in Python.

My particular questions are:

1. How would you implement the manual annotation? Is it possible to use one annotation mask generated at low level for all upcoming steps? Or is it necessary to generate a PNG-image at the specified resolution and perform annotation individually at each magnification?
  2. Which file formats for the images in Python are recommended? Is downscaling necessary?

These questions may be self-explanatory for a professional in this field, so please bear with me as a primary medical practioner.

Thanks a lot!

HI @AlbTHS,

In QuPath, you’d create a project containing your whole slide images and annotate each image once. Then you can export tiles in batch at any resolution and any tile size you like.

Since everyone tends to want to export in a slightly different way, the export is done using scripts – but there is already documentation with examples to try to help with this:

1 Like

Thank you for the quick response! This already helped me a lot.