Write Polygon Coordinates to text or csv file

Hello,

I got some .qpdata files from a colleague associated to some whole-slide images in ndpi format, in which he created polygon annotations. Inside of these
polygons he also automatically created rectangular tile objects.
I woul like to create a groovy script to extract only the coordinates of the edge points of the polygons
and save them to a text or csv file. I woul like to have the coordinates as x and y coordinates
of the pixels with the point of origin in the upper left corner with regard to level 0 of the wsi.
Since I am new to groovy and QuPath I am a bit lost here. I have already searched the forum, but could not find anything working with the latest QuPath version.
If someone could help me out or give me a hint in the right direction, that would be great.

Best regards and thanks in advance

Christoph

Hi @Christoph_Neuner,

It sounds like using Json formatting might be more appropriate to export your annotations.

But anyway, if you still want to export them in a csv, here is a small script that would export the annotations’ (your polygons, not tiles) x & y coordinates for the currently opened image to a csv file:

import java.util.stream.Collectors

def output = 'path/to.your/csv/file.csv'
def header = "Annotation ID,nPoints,Points"
def listOfPoints = getAnnotationObjects().stream().map(e -> e.getROI().getAllPoints()).collect(Collectors.toList())

int index = 0
new File(output).withWriter { fw ->
    fw.writeLine(header)
    listOfPoints.forEach { points ->
        fw.write(index++ + "," + points.size() + ",")
        String line = points.stream().map(e -> String.format("(%f,%f)", e.getX(), e.getY())).collect( Collectors.joining(",") )
        fw.writeLine(line)
    }
}

print "Done!"

1 Like

Hi @melvingelbard,

thanks a lot for your quick reply and the script!
You are right. Json formatting would be totally fine for me either and probably the better choice.