Worm (mostly nematode) eggs - tips?

cellprofiler

Hi all,

I’m new to this software. It looks pretty comprehensive and seems to get good reviews, but there’s clearly quite a learning curve when you’re new.

I was wondering if you had any tips on how to set up a pipeline for identifying worm eggs (mostly nematode genera from farm animals) in images. I have tried adapting one of the template pipelines but I’ve had no luck. It seems to ignore the eggs and instead draw irregular divisions based on invisible background gradients, so the result looks more like a country map of Europe. I’m guessing that finding the right threshold may be part of the issue?

My microscope images are 2592x1944 px, colour, 24 bit. The worm egg dimensions range roughly from about 200-600px long and 110-250px wide (covering a variety of genera). I’ll attach an example one once I work out how. [Update: I can’t see a way of doing that!]

Many thanks for your help!

Wayne

Hi there, we will definitely need to see an image to be helpful (even better if you can attach the image and pipeline you tried so far!) You should be able to drag and drop the image into the message box when replying, can you give that a try?

Thanks Anne!

The pipeline I already tried was the Human Cells one, from your examples.

The original tiff images were too big to upload here (11-12 MB) so I’ve saved them as jpegs, which are much smaller.

This one has a lot more background noise:

I hope that helps!

Wayne

Neat! To be safe, I want to check that each of these images has a single oval-shaped egg, right?

I would suggest

1. first use ColorToGray to either split or merge the three color channels into a single gray image. You can play around with those choices to find the result where the egg is darkest and the background is lightest (i.e. it enhances the contrast the best).