Working with uncompressed 4k .avi files in Fiji

Hi there,
I’m fairly new to macro-programming in FIJI and programming in general so bear with me here pls.

I’m working with uncompressed 4k .avi-files for image analysis in the macroscale. The version of ImageJ is 1.52p. Each image is opened as a virtual stack first, then duplicated to split the color channels and in the end only save one of them to save space. All of this is being done with a macro, which works well.

Except for files bigger than ~8 GB. With this file size it’s not possible for Fiji to do all these steps on my machine with ~50 GB of ram allocated, always crashing Fiji with the “out of memory” prompt.

So my idea would be to only duplicate 1/4 of every stack at once, do the processing and later put them back together. And here is where I’m struggling:

I can’t find a way to store the frame number or stackSize as a variable, since the “getSliceNumber()” command doesn’t work for .avi, and Fiji only outputs “1” as an error.

Would be really nice to know the command, or if anyone here has another idea to solve my problem.

Thanks in advance!

Sincerely,
Jan

So i think i found a workaround:

In my macro i had to duplicate the avi-stacks to work with them in another workflow and just stuck to this instead of trying to split the color channels without duplicating first. So it turns out that I indeed can split the color channels of my uncompressed avi-stack (converted from 4k H.265 to H.264 via ffmpeg) directly after opening as an virtual-stack in FIJI.

So for now my RAM-problems are solved, because splitting is apparently CPU-heavy. That is until i will have a file that exceeds RAM-limitations while opening.

So if anyone can tell me, how to get the frame number out of my .avi-files or otherwise optimize my workflow, this would be highly appreciated!