Why the Compile and Run command doesnt work in Fiji?

I am an ImageJ plugin developer and I am trying to move to Fiji, so i have some questions:

1. In ImageJ there is a Compile and Run command that creates the precompiled .class file which saves compilation time for posterior calls, that function in fiji just says that it is not supported. Surely there is a workaround for this, but is not clear for me. Can somebody points me in the right direction?

2. even if I have a .class file in the plugins folder (compiled with ImageJ), Fiji insist in compiling the .java file. Is this an intended behaviour? How can I change to use the .class file? Why should I create a .jar package in development stage?

Lets just start with these two questions for now.
Happy imaging
BW

This functionality is not supported, being one of the cases where behavior from ImageJ 1.x was not preserved in ImageJ2 (and thus Fiji). Java is a compiled language, and attempting to behave otherwise lead to a custom compiler, class loader issues, and a generally unreasonable maintenance burden.

If you want to write plugins where you can change code within ImageJ and see the results without relaunching, I suggest writing in one of the non-Java scripting languages. If you want to write in Java, I believe the benefits of using an IDE outweigh the need to restart ImageJ.

Making a .jar allows you to bundle your classes with relevant metadata, allowing you to provide one unified artifact that can be versioned, store plugin information, and other resources (e.g. example scripts). If your plugin is built with Maven (whether on the command line or through an IDE) you have a consistent workflow for installing your .jar and dependencies to an ImageJ installation… so in my mind the only reason not to build a .jar is if you don’t want to use these development tools. But in that case, I would recommend scripts again.

Hope this helps. Please let me know if you have any questions about these, or other, topics.

2 Likes