Why are imageJ functions like dilate so fast?

Firstly, I’m quite new to coding so I apologise for any oversight on my part. I always try to find the answers myself, but I’m a bit stumped with this question.

I’ve been using MATLAB to create a function to ‘dilate’ a binary region in a matrix, but the process takes a little while to complete (about 5 minutes for a 5GB image (7500,7500,12 matrix dimensions)). Originally I designed the function to iteratively go through each pixel and ask ‘if img(y,x,z) ==1’ then apply function. The function being overlaying a predefined matrix containing a binary disk on the img coord. I sped this up with the ind2sub function, but the FIJI version is still much much faster.

I assume the FIJI function only applies a similar function to the outer pixels of a defined ‘region of interest’ found through some sort of connectivity function?

I’ve checked: ImageJ (Java2HTML), but can’t seem to find the code for the process ‘dilate’ or the filter ‘maximum…’ in FIJI, and was wondering if anyone could help me understand just why FIJI functions are so efficient? I’m not from a computer science background so I would appreciate a detailed and clear explanation or some references to sites which can provide the info.

Thanks in advance,
T.J.

Hi Tom,
why you do not use imdilate function? It is quite well optimized.
Ilya

1 Like

If you want to find the source code of an ImageJ-command, go to:
“Plugins >> Utilities >> Find Commands…” or type “Cmd L”.
Then search for the Command and click “Source”.
(You need an open internet connection.)

1 Like

Thanks for a great answer Ilya, I will try this when I get home tonight. Me over complicating things as per usual! I will also check the imdilate code to see how it is layed out.

T.J.

Thanks notQRT, exactly what I was looking for to be able to check the FIJI codes! I’ll have a look see when I’m back home.

Hi Tom,