Which Version Should I Use

fiji
imagej

Hello all!

I am new to ImageJ, so new in fact that I am seeking help on which version I should even download. My ultimate goal at present is to analyze corrosion of test panels and depending how this goes expanding my labs use of ImageJ to perform other similar measurements.

Looking at the ImageJ.net website I am thinking ImageJ2 or Fiji would be my top two choices but am looking for feedback from others as to which would be a more long-term solution (ImageJ2 being the newer version), easier to work with at this point in time (plugins pre-installed with Fiji), more stable (ImageJ2 seems to be in development?), etc.

A little background on my problem, it will be similar in nature to these threads: Using imageJ to measure areas undergoing corrosion and Corrosion Thickness Measurement but with a few variations.

My images will all be of flat panels of aluminum (AMS4045 7075-T6 to be specific) that have been subjected to accelerated corrosion testing (ASTM B117). The panels had various corrosion inhibiting compound countings applied that were scribed with an ‘X’ to promote corrosion and after testing the coatings were removed as much as possible but in some cases caused staining of the panels. Due to the thickness of the coatings, we are using a modified ASTM D1654 for evaluation purposes in so much that we had to increase the scribe width and use an ‘X’ verse a verticle line. My images will be obtained through the use of a scanner which I could use to help out the analysis process by scanning photos in color, grayscale, or black&white and at resolutions varying from 75 dpi to as much as 4800 dpi and can save as type BMP, JPG, or PNG. (At present I was planning to experiment with these options to find the best combination but help on this would be appreciated too).

Please let me know if any other information is needed and any input would be greatly appreciated.

@NavyJEB