Which image analysis software to use?

Hi,

I am using Confocal Laser Scanning Microscopy, ( Leica TCS SP8) to do 3D imaging of surfactant distributions on nonwoven polymer fiber. I treat my samples in a way that makes the surfactants fluoresce. It is this fluorescence, (associated with presence of surfactants) which I would like to quantify. My aim is to visualise the surfactants in 3D and also to quantify the amount of surfactants present in my samples for aging studies purposes. Please can any one recommend what is the best image analysis software for me to use? All the image analysis software tools freely available such as IFiji, Icy, CellProfiler, QuPath… have been developed for the analysis of biological samples. My samples are polymeric nonwoven fibers modified with surfactants. I have no programming knowledge and I am not sure how to justify using any of these softwares…Anyone knows of alternative image analysis softwares better suited for me please?

Hi Jona,

An image is an image, whether it’s biological or not is irrelevant. If it’s of good enough quality, the tools available for biologists should work for you. Fiji is a good start: it can open your confocal stacks and can quantify your fluorescence.

If you can share an image, we can even help you :slightly_smiling_face:

Cheers,

Matthieu

Hi MatthieuV,

Thank you for your response. I am happy to share an image but it seems my images(raw ome.tiff) are too big (739.505 KB) for the upload here :roll_eyes:
I am a phd student and will need to justify my choice of the analysis method, its suitability and how it all works and hence I’m seeking advice from experts in the field of imaging. I have used Fiji a little bit but I am not sure how to do 3D image analysis with it effectively and efficiently. I image on 2 different channels and capture fairly big z-stacks e.g. 500um & 5um steps. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Best regards,
Jona