Wheat germ agglutinin staining

cellprofiler

Hi,

I’m new to Cell Profiler, but am hoping to set up a pipeline to measure cell area of cardiac cells in heart tissue using wheat germ agglutinin stain (WGA). I’ve been able to manipulate some of the filters to remove background within the cells, but the objects that IdentifyPrimAutomatic is defining as objects are not what I’m seeing as outlined cells on the slide. Is there a way to manipulate the automated process since I’m hoping to use it to measure a large number of slides and would like to avoid manually outlining the cells myself?

Also, if I can solve that problem, I’d like to set up a second filter to remove cells/obejcts that are not of a specific dimension (like in longitudinal section when I’d like to measure cross section) before making the measurements. Is this possible, and can you recommend a module to work with for this?

Thanks so much!

Mike

Memory problem

Hi Mike,

Have a look at the attached pipeline, and see if it works for your needs.

Also, in order to remove cells according to a criteria, you can use MeasureObjectAreaShape to the cells, and then use FilterByObjectMeasurement to remove cells above or below a particular feature range. The pipeline I’m attaching filters cells according to a specified major axis length, just as an example.

Hope this helps!
-Mark
2009_02_19_PIPE.mat (1.39 KB)

Thanks for the reply! I fooled around with the pipeline some more and came up with the attached one, which works reasonably well as long as there’s not too much background. I filtered by eccentricity, which allows me to exclude cells that are less likely to be in cross-section (less round).