Weka Segmentization: A Beginner's Questions regarding multi-image training, discriminating objects by size, and applying classifiers

Context: I am new to microscopy and image analysis. I have become acquainted with ImageJ, Fiji, and Icy recently upon acquiring confocal images of a RNA FISH experiment I completed. My images are. .nd2 formatted and have three channels. The goal of my analysis is to answer (at least initially) the two following questions:

1. What percent of cells are GFP positive? (GFP is ubiquitously expressed in these cells shown above in green).

2. Of the cells expressing GFP, how many puncta (corresponding to my FISH probes) are present?

Currently I am attempting to use the Weka Segmentation plugin in Fiji to segment my cells in the green channel in order to ultimately create a binary image from the probability plot that I can use to extract ROIs for downstream analysis with a image merge of the red channel (probes are detected here).

The Problems:

1. I began training on Weka and found initially good results. However, when I tried to apply my classifier to the exact same image I trained it on, I got a heap memory error randomly. This error was not present whenever I applied a classifier directly after training - only when I first load the classifier.

Error: “java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space”

or

Error: “java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: GC overhead limit exceeded”

My images are 16-bit colored ~23 MB for a single channel (I do channel split a segment on the green channel alone). My computer uses a quad-core I5 Intel Processor and has 8 GB of RAM and the status bar shows that I have 3952 MB available (I’ve tried increasing this manually in edit>Options>Memory & Threads to about 90% of my RAM space but Fiji threw an error and to check the installation guide but path randomization is off, so I don’t understand the problem there).

The features I’ve used for all analyses thus far has only included Gaussian Blur and Difference of Gaussians.