Watershed: making unwanted splits

Dear all,

I am currently analyzing images from potato tubers, to obtain dimentions of those tubers. As some tubers are touching in the pictures I need to watershed the image as to split them. However there are some tubers that are roughly shaped like a figure 8, although indentations in the middle are fairly small, which are splitted into two tubers. Would there be any way to differentiate between these and tubers touching. Perhaps some sort of threshold as to how deep an indentation needs to be before it is split?

Any tips or tricks are welcome, as I’m just a beginner.

Luuk

Edit: Here is an example of what happends. I changed the image to 8 bit, and set an appropriate threshold. Then I used Erode and Dilate, from the BioVoxxel Toolbox, as to remove some background noise. After that I used watershed, which seperated several potatoes that were touching. However the one in this picture is also splitted, about were I drew the red line. As you can clearly see this is a single tuber, and therefore I would prefer if it doesn’t get split.

Hi @Luuklag

Since you are running the toolbox already, you can actually give the watershed irregular features a try. In its newest version it allows 3 different parameters to tweak the standard watershed towards fewer separations.

1 Like

Hi @biovoxxel, Thanks for the tip. I will definetly have a look. I am also trying some things with KNIME now, would be great to see your plug-in being integrated there as well :wink:

Setting the seperator size to 0 - 50 worked for me. However I tested only on 1 image. More will follow in the future.

@biovoxxel; why is there a erode cycle in your version. I already performed erode and dilate cycles before to get rid of back ground noize. And to what percentage does this erode cycle influence my final results in terms of area measurements?

On the Toolbox page you can find some explanations on how the algorithm works.