Want to create an overlay of ellipses using csv results data exported from imagej

I am a newb and have little coding experience.

I have a csv file (https://pastebin.com/1aM7wDXX) exported from ImageJ that describes ellipses that were drawn and measured in ImageJ. I want to import these ellipses into an overlay and save the overlay so I can visualise these ellipses and manipulate some of them.

I have tried a few ways but I am struggling to understand alot of what I am reading. Can anyone provide me with a solution? Thanks in advance

For each row of a results table, you can create an ellipse ROI by scripting and making use of the ResultsTable and Overlay classes.

The Groovy script below (runnable from the script editor after selecting Language > Groovy) illustrates how to do that. You just need to have loaded your csv file in a results table (e.g. by renaming it as *.tsv and dragging onto ImageJ) and have your image opened.

#@ ImagePlus imp
#@ ResultsTable rt

import ij.gui.OvalRoi
import ij.gui.Overlay

x = rt.getColumnAsDoubles(rt.getColumnIndex("X"))
y = rt.getColumnAsDoubles(rt.getColumnIndex("Y"))
width = rt.getColumnAsDoubles(rt.getColumnIndex("Major"))
height = rt.getColumnAsDoubles(rt.getColumnIndex("Minor"))

ovl = new Overlay()

[x, y, width, height].transpose().each { xc,yc, w, h ->
	ovl.add(new OvalRoi(xc, yc, w, h))
}

imp.setOverlay(ovl)

The drawback is that a standard ImageJ 1.x ellipse ROI cannot be rotated arbitrarily (it just has a width and height parameter), so you might need to create mask or polygon ROIs instead…

Also, if your measurements are in calibrated units, you’ll have to convert them to pixel units when creating the overlay, by dividing by pixel width and height where appropriate.

1 Like

To get the rotated ellipse, you could use @imagejan’s code, but before this line:

imp.setOverlay(ovl)

add a line to retrieve the measured angle and rotate the Oval ROI by that angle (but I’m not sure how to do this in Groovy).