Volume of each brain region in mutants

Hello,

First of all, I want to thank you for all of the work ! It’s amazing :slight_smile:
I’m not an expert of coding and you make it easy to understand.
I have a question about cellfinder and Napari :

I have a lot of different transgenic lines and I know that with cellfinder we can have the volume of each brain areas. Imagine I have a mutant without one area (for exemple suprachiasmatic nucleus), do you think that it will be detected with the software and that it will not be a problem to register on the atlas?
Thank you a lot.

Sincerely,
Amin

1 Like

Hi Amin,

Great to hear the tools are working out for you!

The short answer to your question is that, unfortunately, it depends. You may get very good registration and the area in question will be warped so much it is either tiny, or doesn’t exist. Alternatively, that region may get wrongly assigned to another part of the brain.

The only way to know is to test it with your data. You’ll probably need to play with the registration parameters (particularly the non-linear freeform ones) to get good registration with non-standard brains.

Adam

Thank you for the quick response! So if I understand correctly, in any case, there will be a modification of one of the regions (either it will be too distorted and will have an outlier value or it will be included in another region). All in all, if I understand well, there will be a strange information if I compare to a wild type brain ? So I could use cellfinder to detect this type of error and then come back in more detail if I see an outlier? Thanks again!

So the (non-existant) brain region will continue to exist in the warped atlas image, but if the registration works well, it will be shrunk so much that very few (or no) voxels in your sample brain will be included within it. If the registration doesn’t work well, then some other parts of the brain will be (wrongly) assigned to that missing region.