Vessel section shape recognizing

Hi, I am a medical student at the University of Parma (Italy). I’m writing a thesis on the vascular patterns of glioblastomas and I’m using QuPath. In glioblastomas 2 patterns have been identified: “classic” (microvessels) and “bizarre” (which includes 3 subpatterns: glomeruloid, garland-like and clustered). My question is: would it be possible to “train” the software to automatically recognize the vessel sections as “annotations” and automatically distinguish at least the two patterns (classic and bizarre)? I think that, as far as the microvascular pattern is concerned, it is sufficient to measure the minor diameter of the shape. this is because the section may not be transversal to the vase and may therefore be stretched. the problem will instead be the bizarre pattern and its 3 subpatterns. I’m thinking of some correlation between perimeter and air, but I don’t know how to go on. Thanks

Manuel

I’m not sure I understand enough of the distinctions between classic and bizarre, so all I can say is… definitely maybe.

The machine learning classifiers exclusively work on detection objects, not annotations, although that can be confusing sometimes as various programs refer to different types of objects as annotations, and annotations are used to describe most markings by pathologists. The the case of QuPath, they are a specific object type, and while you can definitely classify them, you cannot train QuPath to classify them.

1. Could you go into more detail as to how you are detecting these objects right now? Is that the positive pixel detection?
  2. There are a limited number of physical size/orientation/similar measurements included in QuPath, but if you can define others that you are interested in, that might be worth including for the future. Moment of inertia was one I thought might be useful.
  3. Regardless of whether you start with annotations or detections, you can inter-convert between the two with a script.