Vacuole measurement

Dear ImageJ forum,

My team and I would like to measure vacuole count and/or their diameters across different time frames. The vacuoles in the image above are the black round circles inside a cell (e.g. the ~5-6 vacuoles that form a “ghost face” in the top left section of the image. I am relatively new to Fiji, and I tried using the Trackmate plugin, but it couldn’t detect the vacuoles, I tried using the manual tracking but it is too slow and tedious. We also tried counting them manually but this also could become a large source of error from user to user. Is there something else that you could recommend us to use to make these measurements? Any help is highly appreciated! Thank you !

It is a tricky problem, I would need to try some things to see what can work.
But the high variability in the image and that your objects are not very clearly distinct from the background would create issues for sure.

Maybe could you provide us with a proper image or a crop of some vacuoles with background?
Then I can test some things.

Thank you Christopher for replying to my message!!! I am attaching the original image and a crop of it showing some vacuoles with background. Please let me know if you need anything else! I am looking forward to your response.forum image.tif (2.0 MB) Crop_forum image.tif (2.9 MB)

2 Likes

I am trying a couple of things at the moment. The background is a bit tricky for a robust detection.
Could you specify a bit more the objects you recognize as relevant?

You outlined the larger objects here as important:

But what about smaller objects. For instance the smaller dark spots in the upper left corner of the big field of view:

Also what kind of measurements are key for you or what do you want to perform afterwards?
You mentioned count, diameter but also tracking? Is there a time series then and you need to use that for tracking?