Using a variable in another macro

Hello everyone,

To start with, I’m new in the world of macros so excuse me if the question is trivial !

In a first macro, I determined the center of an object with 2 variables X0, Y0 and I want to re-use these two coordinates in a second macro, which will be run separately.

I took a look at some discussions, espcially the following one :
http://imagej.1557.x6.nabble.com/User-input-for-a-global-variable-in-a-macro-td3694344.html
but it seems to be a little bit different from what I’m looking for.

How to do that?
Thanks !
Julien

@julien.jurczak

You can save those coordinates into a new Results Table… and then open/access that results table in your following script.

Here is an example with two scripts (they are ‘dumb’ examples - but you can adapt them as you need):

Script # 1 (makes a .csv table from the Results table and saves it to a specified output folder):

#@ File (label = "Input directory", style = "directory") input
#@ File (label = "Output directory", style = "directory") output
#@ String (label = "File suffix", value = ".tif") suffix

count = 0;
processFolder(input, count);
saveAs("Results", output + File.separator + "XYcoordinates.csv"); 

// function to scan folders for files to find files with correct suffix
function processFolder(input, count) {
	list = getFileList(input);
	list = Array.sort(list);
	count = list.length;
	for (i = 0; i < count; i++) {
		if(endsWith(list[i], suffix)) {
			processFile(input, output, list[i], i);
		}
	}

}

function processFile(input, output, file, count) {
		setResult("Image", count, file);
		setResult("X", count, 10*count);
		setResult("Y", count, 10*count);
		// NOTE - you have to set those X/Y values however you do it... I just hard-coded them here for an example.
}

Script # 2 (opens the .csv file as a Results table ands reads/uses the coordinates):

#@ File (label = "Input directory", style = "directory") input
#@ File (label = "Output directory", style = "directory") output