Using a plugin called BaSiC with pyimagej

Hello,

I would like to use the plugin called BaSiC within some python code that I’m writing. I’ve been going through the pyimagej and imagej API tutorial notebooks (I had never used either before and I’m not good with java so it’s slow progress!) but I’m starting to be uncertain that it will be possible to use BaSiC with pyimagej at all… for example, I wasn’t able to find BaSiC on maven and I saw some other discussions here where that seemed to be important (for other plugins).

I manage to setup an imagej gateway using my local Fiji installation (which has BaSiC installed) but I don’t get much further than that:

import imagej
ij = imagej.init(r"C:\Users\Tom\fiji-win64\Fiji.app",headless=False)
plugin = "BaSiC"
args = {}
ij.py.run_plugin(plugin,args)

gives the error:

Unrecognised command: "BaSiC" in line 1

So my question before I invest a lot of time into understanding the API is: will it be possible (=reasonably simple) to use BaSiC through pyimagej?

Thanks in advance for any help and sorry for a question that is probably very naive!

Hi Tom,

Here is how we setup to call BaSiC. It took a bit to figure out, because we were not able to call BaSiC in headless mode. We ended up launching an interactive ImageJ session, passing the image from Python to Java, and displaying the image. We found we had to re-order the image stack when it is passed from Python to Java. We then execute macros to run BaSiC and transfer the calculated flatfield and darkfield images back to Python from Java.

We are not experts, so this may not be “best” practice!! But it works for us,.

We actually call BaSiC in a set of helper functions as part of a larger routine. I tried to flatten it here to make it a script. This script assumes you have a variable called image that contains your image in Python ordering.

import imagej
import scyjava
from scyjava import jimport
import numpy as np # not used here, but we do call numpy in our code.