Unsupported operand types(s) for *: 'NoneType' and 'float'

Hello,

I am just getting started with CPA. I could play around with the example file and I am now trying to use the tool for my own project…

After exporting the database I can explore the images from CPA and the labels appear in the right place (nuclei centroids) when calling “Show cell numbers” but I keep getting this error message after displaying the labels:

An error occurred in the program:
TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for *: ‘NoneType’ and ‘int’

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “imageviewer.pyc”, line 86, in OnPaint

Then the program eventually crashes when gathering some nuclei from the classifier module. Peeking at the properties file of CPA example data set I saw that some channels are defined which is different to my project where I load 3 images per cycle (3 channels) from single images (8-bit tif) without associating them to channels… might that be the problem? How can I fix it?

Best,
Sébastien

Hello again,

I made some progress and could identify that the cause is in fact not related to channel assignment but to having two “Identify Primary Objects” modules (nuclei and foci) that are related (in the same way as in one of the example projects). The spreadsheets are exported correctly (the foci count per nucleus is good) but this configuration seems incompatible with CPA. I cannot afford using “IdentifySecondaryObjects” for the foci detection because the options I want to use are not available for secondary objects (concretely split clumped object by intensity). By the way since detecting foci within nucleus must be one of the most typical task I do not get why the option is not available and one should use cropping + object relationship instead (as in the example)… is there something I did not get there?

Anybody could use CPA with such configuration? Any idea?
Best,
Sébastien