Unexpected Results from MeasureObjectIntensity

Hello Fellow CellProfilers,

I have been using CP for a few months now to get some really great results in images we are trying to analyze, but recently I’ve noticed some weird results that I can’t explain and I’m hoping someone with more knowledge about the inside functions of CP could help.

I’m using CP to count spots (puncta) overlaying with DAPI. I’ve done all this with great success, but when I look at all the resulting data, there are times when an object is identified, categorized, and counted, but then yields zero intensity.

I’ve included pictures of an example of a cell I noticed today. The picture “4322_All_Expanded_Nuclei” shows the nuclei in question (the top-most orange cell). “4322_All_Gabra_Counted” shows the corrected brightness image and the selected puncta. “4322_All_CoGabra” shows the puncta spots that are within the nucleus pointed out above.

CP identified the nucleus, as well as 6 puncta spots (of this one channel) within the DAPI, which I think is correct. However, while it counted correctly that there were 6 spots, the integrated intensity was zero. The puncta in the other channel (no picture included, but can be if that would help answer the question) are significantly brighter and more filled out than in the picture I’ve included, however those puncta are counted correctly and their integrated intensity is never zero.