Unable to set threshold on Fiji

Hello! I am new to Fiji, and I am following a protocol where I am supposed to adjust the threshold of my TIF images to binarise them. However, every time I input my lower/upper threshold and press “set”, the threshold levels jump to a random value (usually 255), and no matter how much I try to change the threshold from the sliding bar or type it in, it does not work.

I am not familiar with coding my own macros or doing anything remotely related to coding, so I am unable to understand any of the solutions given by others to similar this problem people have written about on this forum. However, I did try to update my Fiji software to see if it was a bug, and I have also tried to downgrade to all the older available versions, but to no avail. Could anyone please help me out? I really need this resolved urgently. Thank you.

If you click Apply, does it binarize your image as you have it thresholded?
Also, if you want to type in the value, after you click Set it should pop up a window where you type in the value.

Once you accept those values, the “Red” showing the area you have selected should change to match the values you typed in, even though the original values in the Threshold dialog box will not have changed.
Typing in a value in the original dialog does not work, though I have never understood the logic of why that is.

1. Set
  2. Type in values
  3. Apply to create binary image based on typed in values.

Edit* as seen below, you probably also wnat to check “Don’t reset range” though I did not have that selected in this picture since I wasn’t really doing anything.

Yes, I’ve tried to click and apply, but everytime after I set the values, it will lag for a second and the automatically jump to a much lower upper and lower threshold (usually 255 and 47), and then no matter how I try to input a new threshold value, I will not get it

1 Like