Tutorials for Python for Fiji

Hi,

I’m a very beginner in the programmation area. I began macros 3 months ago, and I read advices for the python learning. I’ve a few questions about it :
-Is Python really usefull for the scientific imagery analysis ?
-What is the difference between Jython and Python ? (I have no computational vocabulary so it’s hard for me to understand what i find on google).
-Do you have tutorials or online free courses for the use of python (or jython if better…) in image analysis ?

Thanks a lot !
Virgile.

Hi Syra,

Oh yes, see scikit-image, OpenCV and related projects.

The syntax is the same ie you would make a function of for-loop the same way but in Jython the code is run on the Java virtual machine, which in practice allows you to call Java libraries just like if there were Python libraries.

Jython is mostly used as a scripting language in Fiji. Out of Fiji, Jython is not really used “as is”.

Yes we do on the ImageJ wiki.
This should help you to get started. also explore the other sections (scripting in general…)

4 Likes

Hello Virgile (and Laurent) -

To answer your original question: Jython is python. It’s a
specific implementation of python. (But more details, below.)

You should be aware of two significant limitations of jython.

(But limitations aside, let me note that I like jython a lot for
scripting Fiji. Having direct access to the Fiji java classes
and their methods in jython is really what makes it work well
for this use case.)

First, jython is python 2, rather than the current python 3. You
may not care – I don’t care much myself – but it’s something
to be aware of. (As I understand it, the jython project is not
that active anymore, and they haven’t chosen to upgrade to
python 3.)

Second, jython can’t use python packages that incorporate
native code (that is, that have part of their functionality written
in something like c that is compiled into a platform-specific
library and shipped with the package). This rules out, in