Turn a segmented line or freehand line into x/y coordinates

Hello everyone. I’m a medical student with no programming knowledge. For my research project I need to analyze a small number of regions in the tumor margins. To reduce selection bias we thought it would be best I randomly select points on a hand drawn line. I found a different blog post that describes an almost similar problem only here the solution was made with straight lines in mind. There is an edit below for different lines but I get no results…
https://forum.image.sc/t/placing-a-point-at-divided-lengths-of-a-line/5820/2

So basically I want to achieve the same as the initial answer. Segment the line into points and extract their x/y coordinates. I would like to do this using a freehand or segment line so I can more accurately follow the tumor margins. I would then randomly select a number of points on that line.

I’m putting the code Rob Lees made for the straight line here:

saveDir = getDirectory("Choose directory for saving things..."); //user chooses folder to store ROIs in 
fileName = getTitle();						//takes the image name to name the ROI file at the end

getSelectionCoordinates(x, y); 				//returns array of x and y coordinates for selection (in this case a straight line has only two points and four coords)

ylength = y[0] - y[1]; 						//finds the length of the line in the y axis by taking the first y coordinate from the second
xlength = x[0] - x[1];						//finds the length in the x axis	the same way
n = getNumber("How many segments?", 10); 	//asks how many segments to break the line in to (points are plotted in between each segment and the ends of the line)	
yinc = (ylength/n); 						//the increment in the y axis between each point's y coordinate
xinc = (xlength/n); 						//the increment in the x axis between each point's x coordinate
for (j=0; j<=n; j++) { 						//a for loop to plot points, repeats for the total number of segments + 1 (as 0 is counted)