TrackObjects data columns

I’m quite new to CP, but I love it already. I have some questions regarding the data output by TrackObjects. The columns in the .csv file differ a bit from what is in the module help information.

My application is to try to assemble lineage trees within an exponentially growing culture of mammalian cells. Each starting cell is expected to divide several times during the culture, and some cells will also die. Eventually, I hope to quantitate rates of cell division and cell death under different culture conditions. I have been examining the output from the Tracking example. My questions are:

1. Will “TrackObjects_Label” identify the entirety of each cell lineage no matter how many times its members divide? That is, will all cells derived from one starting cell always retain the starting label? If so, this might be a very convenient piece of information.

2. Does “TrackObjects_Lifetime” indicate the number of frames since the lineage was first founded? That is, it is not reset in any way by objects splitting? This seems to be the case. I might have assumed that the lifetime would reset to zero upon object splitting. I like it better as it is, but perhaps the documentation could be more clear since the “lifetime of an object” is confusing when one object begets new ones.

3. What is “TrackObjects_ParentGroupIndex” and how does it relate to “TrackObjects_ParentObjectNumber?”

4. The .csv has columns for “ObjectNumber” and “Number_Object_Number?” Are they the same? If not, which is used for “TrackObjects_ParentObjectNumber?”

That’s all I can think of for now…

Thank you very much,
Ben

Hi Ben,

Correct, the starting label is always retained. However, starting a new label is also useful upon splitting or merging; we are still considering how to best annotate such events.

You are correct; Lifetime does not reset at splitting or merging, in part due to the explanation in question 1.