Tracking of split cells only

Hello,

I am fairly new to CP, so I have a few questions to help me in my research. The functionality that I am trying to achieve is to track split cells. In other words I need to track that a cell has split and gather information about the split cell and it’s parent for a variable amount of frames. I need to gather information about the parent and child so that I can assess whether or not the split has occurred successfully and determine if the split cell is normal or if it has divided abnormally.

Currently I am working with the example tracking and metadata example ( http://www.cellprofiler.org/examples.shtml#Tracking ).

I have the example working and I can see the individual cells labeled. When they divide the child and parent are labeled as coming from the same cell. In the end, like I said, I would like to get information about the parent and child for a particular number of frames so that information can be gained from them to access if the cell has divided normally or not.

The problem that I’m having is that I have no clue how to achieve this, any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks

[quote=“JayLewis”]I have the example working and I can see the individual cells labeled. When they divide the child and parent are labeled as coming from the same cell. In the end, like I said, I would like to get information about the parent and child for a particular number of frames so that information can be gained from them to access if the cell has divided normally or not.

The problem that I’m having is that I have no clue how to achieve this, any help would be most appreciated.[/quote]

At this point, TrackObjects does not have the option of creating new object labels for progeny of a split. That means the progeny must be inferred from the output data itself, which requires you to read and parse the output CSVs using software such as MATLAB or the like.