Tracking Objects

cellprofiler

Hi all, I’m new to CellProfiler, but it looks like an extremely powerful tool! One of our projects involves tracking labled migrating cells.

I have been successful in identifying the cells as objects across my time-lapse movies. However, I have run into problems using the “TrackObject” module. It appears that the objects have been assigned ID numbers correctly, and the program is able to follow those numbers through time. HOwever, at the end of the run, when CellProfiler attempts to export the data to excel, I recieve this error:

This error pops up everytime. I can obtain the X and Y coordinants for the center of each cell for each movie without using track objects, but then I would lose the ID information. I realize that “TrackOBject” is still in the beta version, has anyone else had this problem, or can you offer any suggestions?

Thanks!
Mark

Hi Mark,

There are a couple of pieces of information that might be useful in diagnosing the problem. Could you tell us what version of CellProfiler you are using?

Also, the error message you describe often has additional information, like the files and paths where the failure occurred, plus the line number (usually in parenthesis next to the file name). Would you be able to provide that information as well?

Regards,
-Mark

Mark, I’m running 1.0.5811. Thanks for your quick reply.
Let me send along some more information, since it’s quite likely I’m missing something obvious! :laughing:

My pipeline:
LoadImages
IdentifyPrimAutomatic
TrackObjects
ExportToExcel

Here is the full text from the original error. Export status gets to “Computing Means” and freezes. It occurs when I try to export “Images”