video
nucleus
imagej
macro
segmentation
diameter
live

Hello everybody!
I am new to ImageJ and Macros, but I will need to use it everyday in the next months to quantify the live imaging data I am producing. At the moment, I have some videos of cells replicating and expressing two fluorescent proteins: one is fused to H2B so that to visualize the nucleus, the other is fused to a protein of interest in the cytosol.
What I want to do is to measure the diameter of the nucleus as a function of the presence of the other protein. Theoretically, I should come up with a dataset having this info for each frame of the video. Since I am producing a lot of videos, I want to automate the process by writing a script in Jython.

My answer is: which are the tools that would enable me to segment and measure the diameter of the nucleus? Can you suggest me a pipeline? I wanted to use TrackMate, but it actually doesn´t allow to measure the diameter for each nucleus, as it aproximates all of them with the same circle to track them.
Also, if you know of the existence of a Notebook where I can find functions doing more or less something similar to my task, please let me know! I have to learn a lot and I need a place to start :slight_smile:

Hey @Lucrezia

Welcome to ImageJ and the Forum!

Here are a few helpful links to get you started with ImageJ and Segmentation and Scripting:

Ok. I know this is a lot … so start with the workshops at least. :slight_smile: You can search the other links from there.

And - we can better help you come up with a workflow if you post some original datasets. Do you really need to track your cells? If you are only interested in nuclei diameter changes over time… might not need to track them. But you’ll need to look into connected-component tools (look at MorpholibJ)… I think? Let’s see what others think as well…

But for sure - this is enough to get you started!

eta :slight_smile:

Hi @Lucrezia