Superimpose atlas image onto microscope picture

imagej

Hi all,
I’m new in this forum and I’m a beginner with ImageJ.
My question(s) regards how to superimpose rat brain picture (from Paxinos Brain Atlas) onto microscope rat brain image, because I need to count cells in specific brain regions. I knew how to draw line with ImgaeJ but this method is not so accurate. The most accurate method it will be superimpose atlas panel picture onto microscope image. I have watched tutorials on youtube and read articles as well as user manual, but still I cannot figure out how to do it. Furthermore, I cannot manage on how to register properly atlas picture with my interested brain slice, in order to avoid any deformation which can compromise the outcome of cell count. Can you help me to manage with this?
The atlas picture, which has a well defined brain regions, should be transparent and just only the dashed lines should remain in order to have precise brain regions outline.
I am working with ImageJ which run on Windows 7.

Since I am a new user I cannot attacha ny file, but I will share with all of you a link to google drive folder, in which you can find the both pictures:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/16LWl010sHUZgic2-ZzKvx96f2FziYIcy?usp=sharing

Your help will be really appreciated.

I hope I was clear enough.

Many thanks.

Cheers.

Hello @SimMem and wellcome to the forum!

Just curious : do you have a link for this atlas ? Can you only get a tif file format for the atlas or are there vectorial images (svg for instance) available ?

Hello NicoKiaru,

thanks for welcoming me in this forum.

I do not have a link for the atlas, but at the link I posted in my topic you can find both microscope as well as atlas pictures. Both are .tif file. I am sorry, but I do not know if they are vectorial images.

Hum, but where did you get the atlas file ? If you provide a website link, I could check if there are alternative file formats.