Strategy to upgrade the omero server from 5.4.3 to 5.6.1

Hello everyone,

I’m new to omero server administration (not new to linux administration) and was asked to take care of the upgrade from version 5.4.3 to the latest 5.6.1. I’ve been reading a lot in the official documentation to get familiar with the application structure and necessary steps during the upgrade. Unfortunately I don’t think I have yet a clear picture of all necessary tasks and hope you can give me some hints how to proceed the smoothest way.

What’s clear so far is that I need to upgrade a lot of other packages before touching omero (especially java, postgresql, python). Since the release gap is really huge, I doubt, that I can only unzip the OMERO.server zip, replace the softlink to the OMERO.server directory and copy the etc/grid/config.xml from the former installation. So what could be a safe way to get the installation upgraded and keeping the existing custom configuration? In addition I was thinking if there are changes to the DB schema necessary. Are there any separate scripts to be executed or is it sufficient to dump the DB and restore it after the upgrade? Is there anything else I need to think of?

Thanks a lot in advance
Anna

Hi @ahamacher,

When upgrading from 5.4, there are no database changes needed. cf:

We suggest taking a database upgrade anyway during updates (after shutting down 5.4 and before starting up OMERO 5.5 or OMERO 5.6), but if you are changing major PostgreSQL versions, you will need to dump and restore the database.

I think the primary step from 5.4 that you may additionally need to run is the correction of corrupted pyramids, if that applies to your users.

The other major change to plan for is the new recommendation to install OMERO.server and OMERO.web separately.