Standardization for Whole Slide Images

Hey QuPath community,
I am relatively new to image processing with QuPath and I have been asked a question about data analysis and consistency as we process our data.

As an example, if two serial sections from the same sample are stained for H&E by two different labs and then WSI images are obtained by 2 different scanners, what steps are required to ensure that these images can be directly compared. What if these images are compared to a new set obtained a year in the future?

More generally, what best practices should we employ so our data is comparable in the future?

Any and all insights are greatly appreciated as always!
Thanks!

1 Like

That is an important question and there is quite a bit of work being put into figuring out how to standardize imaging, but I do not believe there is any quick and easy answer at the moment.
I keep hoping someone will come out with a FDA approved brightfield standard slide or something like that (that does not bleach/age).

https://towardsdatascience.com/this-is-why-your-deep-learning-models-dont-work-on-another-microscopy-scanner-86956ce3bb6b?gi=c86f816cfe8d
Some discussion there, but while you can normalize a lot of image information, the moment you do that, you are also losing image information. If your background “white” on one scanner is 180,180,180 and another is 255,255,255, you could white balance the two - but even if the 180,180,180 now has a background of 255,255,255, you have not actually added any information, just stretched the information that was there.