Spatial Information Of Positive Pixel Count Detections

Hi!
I’m relatively new to using QuPath and I’m using it for analysis of Spinal Cord sections- I have analysed my slides using the positive pixel count function to pick up staining but now want to try and extract data about the position of the positive detections relative to the surrounding outer pial surface. Does anyone have any advice about how I would work out the distance of detections from a whole surface as opposed to a fixed co-ordinate in the image? Or any other ideas about how to go about this?

If you are using M10, and the outer object is an annotation, you can use Distance to annotations to find that per object.
It will be distance from the centroid of the positive pixel object to the nearest annotation point, not surface to surface.

Here I drew an ellipse on some cells, classified it as Other, and use the distance to annotations command.

And here I created an inverse annotation to the ellipse, classified it as OutsideIslet, and then ran the same command.

1. Make sure the annotation object has a class.
  2. Distance is from the centroid of any object outside of the annotation to the nearest edge of the annotation. That is why I created the inverse annotation for the second step.

Thanks so much!

My project is currently in another earlier QuPath version how can I transfer the project to M10 whilst keeping the detections and annotations from the previous version?

Yes there is! If your version is not too old you should just be able to open the project as is.
If you have an older version (e.g. QuPath 0.1.2), there is a way to import images (with annotations/etc…). However, this will only be available in v0.2.0, which should be available in the next few days :slight_smile: