Serial ROI creation

imagej

Hi Guys!

I’m trying to write a few macros to help me with some analysis. Basically, in an image where I already drew a ROI I want to make a macro to command the creation of consecutive ROIs in the same shape as the initial but increasing in size with constant increments (based on the scale of the image, not pixels). So, as an exemple, if I have a circle in the middle of the image of a diameter of 100 microns and my set constant is 20, I would have next 120, 140, 160, 180, etc until the ROI reaches the border of the image.

Is it clear? Could you help me with that?? I’m a very beginner in programming, so I have no idea of how.

Thank you so much in advance!!
Marcos

Good day Marcos,

here is a demo macro that does what you wish:

inc = 20;
sInc = inc;
coord = newArray(2);
newImage("Untitled", "8-bit black", 512, 512, 1);
w = getWidth();
h = getHeight();
mouseClickCoord( coord );
makeOval(coord[0], coord[1], 50, 50);
run("Set Scale...", "distance=2 known=1 unit=µm");
roiManager("Add");
getSelectionBounds(x, y, ww, hh);
toScaled(sInc);
while (x-inc>0 && x+ww+inc<w && y-inc>0 && y+hh+inc<h) {
   run("Enlarge...", "enlarge="+sInc);
   roiManager("Add");
}
roiManager("Show All");
exit();
function mouseClickCoord( a ) {
   a[0] = 0;
   while (a[0]==0) {
      getCursorLoc( x, y, z, mdfrs );
      if (mdfrs&16!=0) { a[0] = x; a[1] = y; }
   }
}

Paste the above macro code to an empty macro window (Plugins >> New >> Macro) and run it.

Click somwhere in the image canvas which defines the left-top position of the first/inner circle.

Regards

Herbie

Hi Herbie,