Separation of particles

Hello, I am a total ImageJ beginner and do not know much about it so far. I try to separate lipid droplets in bluish microscopy images from each other and the watershed-tools do not work in this case. I recognized that it would help to sort out very small particles (small cells I don’t want to count) and the small lipid droplets differ from the particles I want to exclude because they are by far more round than the small blood cells and fibroblasts. Can I somehow exclude only those small particles (below a certain area threshold) which have a low circularity (below certain threshold)? I would be so happy if somebody could explain this to me!
Thank you!!

@anna2

To get you some better help… we still need some information from you:

1. Can you share an original image file with us here directly or via a link to a file sharing site? That way - we can see your datasets… to get a better idea of what workflows/tools might work best.

2. Please let us know the exact steps/commands you ran so far … that way we can see what you tried exactly and where to go from there.

It’s true that watershed works best with circular objects - but seeing your images will help us figure this out… MorphoLibJ might also be a good tool for you try.

1 Like

Tank you for your quick answer and sorry for my delay!

I tried to play around with brightness/contrast (ctrl shift C) and threshold (ctrl shift T) and tried this before and after converting the image into 8 bit. Then I used the Analyze --> Analyze particles with area exclusion below 1029 square pixels. This didn’t work so I also used Process–> Binary–> Watershed, which caused a separation of the lipidroplets into very small fragments. Then I installed the Watershed segmentation plugin, but it also failed to separate the droplets, but generated different objects instead.

• This should mean “Thank you!”