Select and measure multiple ROIs within the bigger ROI

Hi guys,
I’m a complete novice in imaging/Fiji, and can’t find a solution for the next task:
I have an image of multiple nuclei, which I segmented using the StarDist plugin. StarDist highlighted all segmented nuclei as ROI. In the centre of the image, I have an anatomical region, within which I need to measure the cell nuclei quantity and area. So, on a single image, I have multiple ROIs of cell nuclei and one big ROI of the anatomical region.
How do I exclude the cell nuclei ROI outside the big ROI of the anatomical region?

I believe this post has a similar problem, but I do not understand the code and how to use it in practice:

Many thanks for your help,
Kseno

1 Like

Hi Kseno!

In theory, the ‘AND’ function in the Roi Manager (“More >>” menu) should so that for you (as described in the ‘Expert Roi Manipulation’ box in this excellent resource by @petebankhead. In practice, however, I could not get that to work in my hands and I’m not sure why…

A simpler workaround might be to duplicate your original image (Ctrl+Shift+D), apply the big ROI to this duplicate and clear outside (Edit > Clear Outside), and then run StarDist on this image. This is what it looks like in my hands (with the Versatile Fluorescent Nuclei model in StarDist run on the ImageJ test image ‘blobs’).

It’s not the most elegant solution and someone likely has a better way of doing this, but this might be sufficient in the meantime until that better solution appears :blush:

Cheers,
Siân

2 Likes

That will do, thanks a lot!
You made my day:)

Cheers,
Kseno

I think using AND on a group of ROIs like that would result in no ROIs, as it is ANDing all of the ROIs to each other, not all of the cell ROIs to the large ROI. So any two cell ROIs that don’t overlap would result in the deletion of all ROIs.