Segmenting Overlapping Urine Spots

Hello. This is my first post on the ImageJ forum. I am an undergraduate in a urology laboratory and I am working on software to segment overlapping spots in a binary image. The overlapping spots are a problem because they prevent the accurate analysis of the total area covered by urine and the number of urine spots in an image. The images I am working with look like this:

In these images the urine spots are white and the background is black. I am looking for a way to separate the overlapping spots and find the amount of area that is overlapping for each spot in ImageJ/FIJI. This will allow me to get an accurate estimation of how much area is covered by urine and how many urine spots there are. Ideally, I would get something like this:

Where the spots are outlined in red and the overlapping area is pink.

I have tried using watershed to separate the spots. However, watershed does not tell me how much of the area is overlapping when it makes a split. In addition, there are some problems with over-segmentation in some images, i.e. watershed will make a cut where there is obviously one spot.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I have some experience with programming in Java, but I am a novice when it comes to image analysis/processing. Thus, any literature regarding my problem or image analysis you can point me towards will be helpful.

Thanks for reading.

It looks like a problem you can solve using the Ellipse split plugin.

3 Likes

@myrgth
can I ask you how do you know how to draw the red lines that define the overlapping regions?
Have a nice day,
Emanuele

I gave my plugin a try it works like a charm :slight_smile:

5 Likes

@emartini

I split the overlapping spots using my own intuition. I just drew the spots in by hand where I saw overlapping spots. I did this to give an example of an output.

@iarganda @twagner