Segmentation to measure copepod length

Hello,

I am working on a class project where I am attempting to perform segmentation on images of copepods. The ultimate goal is to measure the prosome (body) length, excluding the tail segments.

I am still pretty new to image processing in general, so I am reaching out to the community to find out if anyone has other suggestions for tools I could try before I commit more time to training in ilastik.

Things I’ve tried:
I’ve trained in ilastik on pixel classification mode. It was underestimating the size of my copepods due to uncertainty on the edges. When I upped the level of precision in my annotations, the overall improvement in the results was very minimal.
I’ve also tried the findContours and fitEllipse functions in the python cv2 package. However, this is not currently finding the right contours or fitting ellipses to the correct place on the majority of images.

I am attaching several example photos.The grid segments are each 1 mm.

Thank you for any suggestions.

Andrea

Hi @aquets21,

those are cute little fellas. The overall problem I see is that the scale of the images varies, as well as the overall appearance. Those are difficulties that make image processing in general a bit harder.

How do you account for the different scalings right now? Do you measure the grid automatically, by hand? If you know the size of the grid, already, you could first rescale the images appropriately so that that pixels all represent the same physical size.

Then I would qualitatively select a few of these images for pixel classification training (3-7) and see how the classifier performs under these different conditions.

If the segmentation is not good enough, you can always try the autocontext workflow for better results.

As for the measurements, you can probably analyse the skeleton e.g. in fiji.

Cheers
Dominik

Hi, would it be possible to have a homogeneous background (no grid) ?