Segmentation of Thin Section TIFF - similar colour issues

Hi everyone, I am new to ImageJ so sorry if this is a silly question. I am just struggling carrying out segmentation on my tiff thin section image and wondering if anybody had any advice. My main issue is isolating the quartz from the pore spaces as they are such similar colours. Sorry if image isn’t too clear - just a screenshot from my tiff to show as an example. This was the section that showed it best but it is like this all over the image. I tried using colour threshold but would not pick it up. Is there a way on ImageJ that I could isolate the quartz? Looking to get an area% of the pore space. Any help is appreciated!

1 Like

Hello Lisa Mclean,
How familiar are you with ImageJ. There are a huge amount of different ways to do what you wish so I suggest that you indicate what you do and do not want. Like draw a outline on the parts which show the main difference you want to segment. I am including a sample of your image to show just a simple way this can be done. Also do you have many images to do this too?

Again, this is fast and simple but it can be done on a single pixel range.
Bob

Hello Bob,
Thank you so much for your response and help. I am not particularly familiar with ImageJ - I have been watching online tutorials and going through the help on the website but looking to use it for my dissertation so keen to learn more about it. I will attach the image I sent prior with the quartz outlined (the light coloured parts not outlined would be the pore space).

I will attach two other images too (outline image: blue = pore / purple = quartz) that might show it better as the first image was at the edge.

I have tried colour supervised classification on other applications but the pore space and quartz kept getting classified wrong because they are so similar. I have about 8 other images I am looking to do the same thing too. Any further help would be extremely appreciated!
Thank you,
Lisa

1 Like