Segmentation of teeth/tissue

Hello

I am quite new at image processing, so would greatly appreciate some help/directions. I am trying to segment the teeth from the rest of the mouth in images similar to the one below.
I tried Weka but it is not accurate enough. I have not done any preprocessing of the images.
Thank you

dm_2015_005_cambria002%20-%20Copia%20(2)

Hi @J.Verne,
welcome to the forum!
Just wonder, what you consider as accurate and not accurate?
Can you show results that you already achieved?
Do you want to have teeth all together or as one single object?

1 Like

I would start by looking at HSB or Lab colour spaces.

2 Likes

ok thanks. i will be more specific.
i am trying to segment 2 classes: teeth and everything else. my goal is to obtain binary masks for a series of images.
my questions

1. If i have a series of these images and i want to eventually train and apply a segmentation on the batch, should i normalize them in any way?
    Fiji (ImgLib) seems to have a normalize algorithm accessible through the expression parser (i could only find it there).
    And then there is Enhance Contrast for which we have the Histogram Equalization option.
    Which to use?
  2. Is there other preprocessing needed? Some noise reduction maybe (not sure which kind)?
  3. I studied the Weka segmentation manual and various threads and examples. As a result, I tried different features in the Weka trainer. I obtained what I think to be my best results when using Gaussian Difference + Variance (max sigma 4) + Laplacian + Kuwahara + default Fast Random Forest. Using various feature combinations yielded almost similar results. Even a Laplacian on its own did relatively well. So choosing the best one is subjective and based on staring at a few hundreds of these results until I thought some were better than others.
    Any suggestions here?
    You can see the probability maps below. class1 - tissue, class2 - teeth

class 1.tif (991.1 KB)
class 2.tif (991.1 KB)