Sciview makes fiji crash

Hello!

I have never used Sciview before, but I wanted to give it a try with my .obj files. Only, fiji does not open it at all, rather it crashes without displaying any error whatsoever on the console.
Could anyone please enlighten me?

2 Likes

Yes, me also and have had this problem for quite a while.
Bob

1 Like

A couple of vthings that would be to very useful to do: 1) ensure your Fiji installation subscribed to the SciView update site is really up-to-date and 2) produce a debug log, by starting Fiji from the command line and specify -Dscenery.LogLevel=debug.
Pinging @kephale @skalarproduktraum, who can probably help

4 Likes

@tweagles1 and @smith_robertj

Building on Tiago’s comment, could you tell us:

1. what operating system are you using?
  2. is SciView up-to-date?
  3. can you specify what you are doing when it crashes? (e.g., Open Fiji then click Plugins>SciView, or does it get further than that?)
  4. if you start Fiji from the command line, then could you add -Dscenery.LogLevel=debug and send the debug log
3 Likes

Thanks for the replies.

1. Personally, I am working on a Windows 10 (no clue whether it is the case for @smith_robertj as well or not of course)
  2. No further update is available for Sciview
  3. It does not go any further than that indeed. I just open the plugin, Sciview starts being opened (meaning I see “Scenery Sciview” and the version), then it immediately crashes.
  4. I would do this since I see it would be helpful. Only, I don’t know how to start FIji from the command line…

Here is a guide:

Thanks for the new tip.
Attached here
hs_err_pid6388.txt (35.6 KB)
is the report I get

2 Likes

@tweagles1 Thanks.

Might be similar to this issue. You could try:

1. Upgrading (or downgrading!) your graphics drivers, esp. Vulkan drivers(?).
  2. Using a different graphics card and/or machine.