Running 'Trainable Weka Segmentation' from Matlab (using ImageJ-MATLAB)

Note: find below an improved workflow (my answer to this post).

Liebes Tagebuch,

I’m trying to help a lab that uses a ton of Matlab scripts. Seeing the Trainable Weka Sementation they asked if the plugin can be called from within one of their Matlab routines.

I found a solution that works and I will share it below. Still, I have never used ImageJ-MATLAB or Miji before and my solution might be crap. If you see ways to improve what I did, please let me know, ok? Thanks a lot!

• First I have followed the instructions here: https://imagej.net/MATLAB_Scripting

• The most tedious step was to run Matlab with the same JVM as the one Fiji is using. Links to documents that describe how to do that can be found on the page I linked above.
  • The following lines then allowed me to launch fiji from within Matlab:

addpath('e:/Fiji.app/scripts') % Point to your ImageJ installation
    ImageJ

• In order to avoid that ImageJ is called multiple times (if people run the Matlab script multiple times), I did the following:
% Check if IJM is started already and start if it is not
try
      %this is just some function that can only be called if IJM is set up
      IJM.getIdentifier() 
catch
      addpath('e:/Fiji.app/scripts') % Update for your ImageJ installation
      ImageJ                         % Initialize IJM and MIJ
end
call('trainableSegmentation.Weka_Segmentation.loadClassifier','E:\\Tr2dProjectFolder\\Classifier\\Hernan_Simple_Substack_1-252-10.model');
call('trainableSegmentation.Weka_Segmentation.getProbability');
  • In order to make this Macro available I installed it from within Matlab using:
% Install Macro 'WekaThis.ijm'
MIJ.run('Install...', 'install=C:\\Users\\jug\\matlab\\WekaThis.ijm');