Running CliJ outside of Fiji

Since @haesleinhuepf just put the excellent CliJ paper on BioRXiv, I started playing with CliJ in Micro-Manager. Just loading the CliJ jars (https://github.com/clij/clij/releases) on the classpath (by putting them in the plugins directory) leads to hopeful results, i.e.

import net.haesleinhuepf.clij.CLIJ;
clij = CLIJ.getInstance();
clij.clinfo();

in the Beanshell scripting environment works correctly, but:

p = ij.WindowManager.getCurrentImage();
in = clij.push(p);

results in an exception caused by SciJava (stack trace copied below).

I assume that I need to do some SciJava magic beforehand to register services (Micro-Manager 2.0 already uses SciJava to register plugins, but as far as I know does not scan for Services).

I’d greatly appreciate help from someone in the know (@ctrueden, @imagejan ?) to figure out what needs to be done to get this code to run in the Micro-Manager environment. This should be useful for anyone who wants to use this code outside of Fiji.

Stacktrace:

java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Invalid service: net.haesleinhuepf.clij.converters.CLIJConverterService
    at org.scijava.service.ServiceHelper.createExactService(ServiceHelper.java:281)
    at org.scijava.service.ServiceHelper.loadService(ServiceHelper.java:249)
    at org.scijava.service.ServiceHelper.loadService(ServiceHelper.java:195)
    at org.scijava.service.ServiceHelper.loadServices(ServiceHelper.java:171)
    at org.scijava.Context.<init>(Context.java:280)
    at org.scijava.Context.<init>(Context.java:236)
    at org.scijava.Context.<init>(Context.java:176)
    at org.scijava.Context.<init>(Context.java:162)
    at net.haesleinhuepf.clij.CLIJ.convert(CLIJ.java:395)
    at net.haesleinhuepf.clij.CLIJ.push(CLIJ.java:356)
    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:62)