RNAScope Quantification for Beginners

Hi fellow scientists,

I am a master student (trying to graduate) and have had good success with RNAScope. However my PI wants to quantify the respective images but I’ve never done it before.
Therefore I would very appreciative for a step-by-step and opinions of which programs would be best for counting individual transcripts and dual/triple labeled cells. Also which graphical representation would be best for relating this information to scRNA-seq results?

Thank you in advance and I look forward to great suggestions.

Is your RNAscope analysis in brightfield (red/teal?) or fluorescent images?

There are several other posts here about quantifying that type of staining, and the problems involved in it (mostly on the brightfield side).

Mine are fluorescent images.

Excellent start! Unfortunately, I can’t really help with the CellProfiler part, as I generally use QuPath. It’s pretty good for tissue analysis with constraints on cell expansion, but not so good for large, sprawling, or oddly shaped cells. YMMV.

Are you able to pair the scRNA seq with exact cells in your images (laser microdissection)? Or are you looking at relative populations from isolated cells and tissue images?

1 Like

I’ve never heard of QuPath, but I will give it a try. Thank you very much!
Also to answer your question I’m looking at specific populations from tissue images. What kind of data can one extract using the QuPath approach? (mean number of transcripts per cell, number of dual/triple labeled cells)
What is a significant amount of labeled cells normally used in analysis?

Yowch, that might be a bit high (of an ideal target!). Ideally you have a spot count, and if you are very lucky or looking for a very rare transcript, it might be accurate, that single spots correlate with single transcripts. More often it is somewhat of a mess, and you are looking at relative rates, given similar errors between samples.