Resolution enhancement with machine-learning

Hi all,

I’m not an expert on AI and deep learning, but I do understand the basic principles of it. I can ‘accept’ that machine learning can be used for things like deconvolution or denoising. However, more and more people seem to suggest that AI can transform a normal resolution image into a super-resolution image. This is much harder for me to understand. I don’t see how an algorithm would be able to ‘create new information’ that is not present in the original data. I can understand that an algorithm might be able to transform the original image into the most likely super-resolution image, but then what is the benefit in the context of scientific research? If you need to train the algorithm on many super-resolution images of a very similar sample, then what can you learn from the newly restored image? All the information the algorithm used was fed through real super-resolution images (usually), so the restored image does not really contain new information. So in a certain way you don’t learn anything new from the image. And if you want to apply the algorithm to a new sample to actually learn something new, it’s not possible, because the algorithm wasn’t trained for that sample. I hope my way of thinking is a bit clear, and maybe it’s also a bit of a philosophical question, but the idea of using AI to transform a low NA objective image into a super-resolution image really confuses me.

Thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts.
Eli

6 Likes

Hi @EliS, thanks for this very interesting question.
My feeling is that to enhance resolution, you need to train a ML tool. To do so, you either need lots of reference images either a model. In both cases, you already know how your images will look like, so you won’t discover anything. So, for me, in this case, the only interest I see in enhancing resolution is to get nicer images for display, but not for research.