Rescue a >4GB label image saved from napari?

I am afraid I have done something kind of foolish. I am just starting to learn to use napari and I got ahead of myself. I was painting labels in a label layer on a fairly large 3D stack (RGB, 7506x3558x37 slices), and it was going well. But then I wanted to save the label layer to come back to later. I had the label layer layer selected and then I clicked ‘File>Save Selected Layers’ in the GUI. And then foolishly I closed the napari session before I confirmed that the saved image was valid.

The resulting label image was ~7.91GB. I have a feeling it was not saved with a BigTiff flag. When I try to open this image with tifffile.imread('filename.tif') or anything built off of it (opening directly with napari filename.tif at the command line, or skimage.io.imread('filename.tif') (I think that is basically a fancy wrapper around tifffile.imread ?) I get the following error:

OSError                                   Traceback (most recent call last)
<ipython-input-20-3623d7d33559> in <module>
----> 1 x = tifffile.imread('interstitial_label.tif')

~/.virtualenvs/napari/lib/python3.6/site-packages/tifffile/tifffile.py in imread(files, **kwargs)
    719         if isinstance(files, (str, os.PathLike)) or hasattr(files, 'seek'):
    720             with TiffFile(files, **kwargs_file) as tif:
--> 721                 return tif.asarray(**kwargs)
    723     with TiffSequence(files, **kwargs_seq) as imseq:

~/.virtualenvs/napari/lib/python3.6/site-packages/tifffile/tifffile.py in asarray(self, key, series, level, out, maxworkers)
   2803                 self.filehandle.seek(series.offset)
   2804                 result = self.filehandle.read_array(
-> 2805                     typecode, product(series.shape), out=out)
   2806         elif len(pages) == 1:
   2807             result = pages[0].asarray(out=out, maxworkers=maxworkers)