Read Number From Image

Hi Fellas,

I am new to scikit-image. Can any one have idea how can i detect number from image. if anyone know please share with you’re guide line.

Note: Images are only contains number(Basically photo capture from mobile)

Thanks In Advance

Do you mean classifying images of hand-written digits?

https://scikit-learn.org/stable/auto_examples/classification/plot_digits_classification.html

3 Likes

No jan, it’s digital image. give you few example here.

The above image open only in browser and i need to read that digit like 14.5 as per image

I think you are searching for some OCR application, this is an easy implementation from a nice website

I didn’t try it with your image, but I guess that with some parameters tuning you can achieve your goal.

Have a nice day,
Emanuele Martini

5 Likes

Hi Emanuele Martini,

Thanks for you’re help. i will check with this and update you for the same

Have a nice day,
Mihir Patel

Hi Emanuele Martini,

I checked with you’re example. But it’s not work in mine case as there are many kind of image which not will be in same format. Can you please let me know if there are other way to handle image reading(not handwritten image)

Thanks & Regards,
Mihir Patel

What do you mean by different format?

Hi Emanuele Martini,

In our case the digital number image would be at different location and position so might it is effect in our case. can you tell me some other scenario from where i can read number from mobile image(digital numbers).

Thanks & Regards,
Mihir Patel

Good day Mihir Patel,

please be aware of the fact that your task is non-trivial!

I doubt that you will find an existing solution that does exactly what you want.

The processing steps are:

1. Find the position of the numeric block in your image
  2. Normalize the block in order to remove geometric distortions
  3. Segment the numerals
  4. Classify the numerals which is rather easy for this kind of 7-segment displays

Good luck

Herbie

1 Like