Ratiometric images - how to modify intensities based on calibration curve data

Hi,

I have collected ratiometric data and I have created a divided image. I now need to modify the intensities in the image based on a calibration curve equation:

y = a((xˆb)+c); where a, b and c are constants I have values for; x is this current pixel intensity; and y will be the new modified intensity.

I am very new to imageJ - can someone please give me a simple explanation of how I can do this.

thanks in advance!

Jo

Hi jamjojo,
welcome to the forum. Asking here is a good start.

Beside the forum and a lot of other very good information sources the ImageJ User Guide is important to know.

What you are looking for is described in 29.9.19 Macro…

The function can be found in the ImageJ menu
Process/Math/Macro

There you can simply type in your formular, e.g.:
v=1.3*((v^2.9)+3.4)

If you will use this formular many a time then it will good to create a macro:

run("Macro...", "code=[v=1.3*((v^2.9)+3.4)]");

The macro can be written a bit more sophisticated as

a = 1.3;
b = 2.9;
c = 3.4;
run("Macro...", "code=[v=" +a+ "*((v^" +b+ ")+"  +c+ ")]");

Hope this helps.

Another way is given in this older thread of the mailing list where you find an macro example which you can easily adapt if you need more flexibility:

http://imagej.1557.x6.nabble.com/Calibrating-density-and-creating-calibrated-image-td3692091.html

Dear phaub,

thank you for your quick reply. I realised that I had posted the wrong equation (I should have rearranged to solve for X). it should have been:

x = ((a/y)-c)^(1/b) or v=((a/v)-c)^(1/b)

I have used the macro - thanks for pointing this out - however the pixel values output in the new image are too high. I have checked the equation by hand and it is good - is there any obvious issues with the equation I have input (shown above)? I am currently trying to modify a macro to see if this resolves things.

thanks

jo

Hi Bio7,