Qupath takes too long to run

Hello.
Thank you for sharing the wonderful program “qupath”. As a pathologist, I am trying to analyze the distribution of fibroblast and immune cells in tumor stroma using TCGA breast whole slide image. I have very little experience for programming.

Analysis goals

My strategy for this study is as follows;

1. Classify “Lesion (with tumor and stroma)” for analysis using Pixel classifier.
  2. Classify “Lesion” into tumor and stroma using superpixel (SLIC, Tile diameter 25 um).
  3. And it classifies “stroma” in to mature and immature stroma by pixel classifier.
  4. Finally, to determine the fibroblast and lymphocyte density in the mature and immature stroma, select the annotations of “mature, immature” stroma and measure the fibroblast and lymphocyte with a trained cell detection object classifier.

The script I use for each step for this project is very simple and is as follows.

resetSelection();
selectObjectsByClassification(“Immature”, “Mature”);
runPlugin(‘qupath.imagej.detect.cells.WatershedCellDetection’, ‘{“detectionImageBrightfield”: “Hematoxylin OD”, “requestedPixelSizeMicrons”: 0.5, “backgroundRadiusMicrons”: 8.0, “medianRadiusMicrons”: 0.0, “sigmaMicrons”: 1.5, “minAreaMicrons”: 10.0, “maxAreaMicrons”: 400.0, “threshold”: 0.1, “maxBackground”: 2.0, “watershedPostProcess”: true, “cellExpansionMicrons”: 2.5, “includeNuclei”: true, “smoothBoundaries”: true, “makeMeasurements”: true}’);
runObjectClassifier(“06_ObjCls_for_fibrob_V_immuneCells”);
def name = getProjectEntry().getImageName() + ‘_ANNO’ + ‘.txt’
def path = buildFilePath(PROJECT_BASE_DIR, ‘Results_Annotation’)
mkdirs(path)
path = buildFilePath(path, name)
saveAnnotationMeasurements(path)

Challenges

My problem is;

In the case of a large image having many cells, it takes a very long time to execute the above script.
(It may take from 10 minutes to 4-5 hours depending on the image size.)
(I use the computer with CPU 24 cores, RAM 256g and SSD 4g)