QuPath, Is it possible to count positive area in 'cytoplasm'

I’m tinkering with QuPath 0.2.0 trying to create a protocol that’s simple enough to hand off to end users to apply to their slides, but I’m completely new to it and not sure if what I’m trying to do is possible, though its conceptually simple. I can segment nuclei and get a good expanded ‘cytoplasm’ region around them, but I want to then threshold and count the fraction of positive area within the ‘cytoplasm’ expanded region. Using the subcelluclar detection function will give me this for the overall cell, is there a way to get at this divided by subregion? There are other ways of doing this obviously, but it would be really nice to work directly off the slides.

If you can provide some examples (raw data is best), I might be able to take a look, but for the moment, subcells are your easiest option. Pete does have a script that classifies them by whether their centroids are within the nucleus or not, but you would need to make sure they are well split up for that to be effective (one large blob that happened to have it’s centerpoint in the nucleus, for example). Depending on version, there are various ways of getting the Intersect of two ROIs, or Subtracting them. You could perform this on each individual subcellular detection vs it’s cell’s nucleus, removing the nuclear area. It would likely be very slow without some clever coding.

If your cells are not evenly spaced, be careful about how this type of classification, or cell math, is impacted by tumor vs stroma, or the edge of various structures. It might look like the edges of your densely packed tumor or tissue slice have a lower percentage positive area simply because the cytoplasm can expand further out into empty space without hitting another cell.