QuPath 0.2.1 Scripting Source Files

Hi,

I’m a student intern in a bioinfomatics lab, and I am currently working on writing some QuPath scripts for our lab.

I was following the guide here on setting up scripting in a real IDE. I chose to do it in Eclipse as that is my Java IDE of choice. Instead of the qupath and jars directories within the QuPath directory, I found that the jars I needed came from lib/app. However, I could not find a location with source versions of those jar files (qupath/sources in the guide). Are those jar files still distributed somewhere? Or would I have to build QuPath from source to take advantage of them?

Thanks,
Arjun

I am using the following paths to set up QuPath in an IDE (which I got after building from source):
QuPath\build\qupath
QuPath\build\resources (instead of the sources directory from the link)

I do think you will need to build from source to get the source code etc… but not sure anymore if you can get the compilation to work without. The best is to try out and see! Good luck :slight_smile:

Seconding what Melvin said… the source jars are no longer included in the distribution, but you should be able to point the IDE towards the QuPath source cloned from GitHub. That’s what I now do when using IntelliJ for scripting, but haven’t yet updated the instructions for v0.2.x.

Building from source won’t really help you unless you change the build.gradle file to also generate source jars… but that can be a bit awkward (i.e. I’m not exactly sure what bits you’d need to change).

PS. I personally much prefer eclipse for development and IntelliJ for scripting… I find Groovy support in eclipse isn’t terribly good.

1 Like

Thanks @melvingelbard @petebankhead for the suggestionns! I will try them out today.

1 Like

I have added

QuPath\build\qupath
QuPath\build\resources

to my IntelliJ project

Any call to a function or method like

// Read BufferedImage region
def server = getCurrentServer()