Quantifying neuron blebbing with ImageJ

Hi, I have images (.tif) acquired from mouse neurons during calcium imaging after excitation with glutamate. I am trying to analyze the images to quantify blebbing under the effect of glutamate or some neuroprotective drugs. Since I am not an expert I am using a small macro to pre-process the image, after which I threshold the image. I need something like no. of blebs per fiber length.

My question is if someone could show me the right tools to use in image J. I can share some .tiff images if needed.

Below is what my macro looks like. It is doing a good job but not perfect.

After threshold, I use the "analyze particles’ and try to find the fibres being linear structures and blebs being more circular structures.

Not sure if I have explained my question well, but I think I could share some images if any one out there would like to help. Thanks!

run("Rename...", "title=Sequence");
run("Set Scale...", "distance=1 known=0.22 pixel=1 unit=um global");
run("Duplicate...", "title=Duplicate duplicate");
run("Gaussian Blur...", "sigma=1 scaled stack");
imageCalculator("Divide create 32-bit stack", "Sequence","Duplicate");
run("Duplicate...", "title=ForOverlay duplicate");
selectWindow("Result of Sequence");
run("8-bit");
run("Threshold...");  // open Threshold tool
  title = "WaitForUserDemo";
  msg = "Use the \"Threshold\" tool to\nadjust the threshold, then click \"OK\".";
  waitForUser(title, msg);
  getThreshold(lower, upper);
  setOption("BlackBackground", false);
run("Make Binary", "method=Default background=Default");
run("Options...", "iterations=1 count=3 do=Erode stack");
run("Dilate", "stack");
close("Duplicate");

Hey @sia

Posting images is the best way to get solid feedback … so post one or more sample images - indicating the objects you want to properly segment/count - and I’m sure the community can help you.

eta

1 Like